SQL Backups – Configuration

SQL Backups – Configuration

Estimated reading time: 3 min

The RxWorks Backup Configuration area has a number of options that may be configured by a user to best suit their clinic needs. Some options are not available in non-RxWorks server load environments.
Users can:

  • Configure the paths for both full and log backups.
  • Configure how long to keep backups before deleting them to clear space.
  • Configure restore options.
  • Configure what time to run database maintenance.
  • All changes made to the Backup Configuration screen sections can be completed by clicking the SAVE button in the configuration window.

    RxWorks recommend that your backups are saved to a network location. If you only backup to your server, both your live data and your backup data will be lost if the server has a hard drive failure. For further information on network backups, please contact your Hardware Technician.

    Accessing The Backup Configuration Window

    1. Go to the RxWorks Task Panel.
    2. Go to ‘Tools and Utilities.’
    3. Select ‘Backups.’
    4. Click on ‘Backup Locations & Times’ under the ‘Configuration’ section.

    Log Backup Settings

    Setup the LOG Backup options as follows:

    1. Set the folder that you want the LOG backup to be sent to.
    2. This is normally a path to your backup workstation.
      Click the button on the backup path line to browse to a network or drive location that you want to save to. Select the folder location and click OK in the browse window.

      The same button is shown on the FULL backup path line.
      If you know the path to the folder, you may enter it by typing the path manually.

      If a backup path cannot be found, a warning message is displayed.
    3. Select how long to keep backup files based on the age of the backup (delete files after X days old) or by setting a maximum amount of disk space used before the oldest backups are deleted. In the example below, the option to keep historical backups has been set to ‘AGE (days) is greater than 10’.

    Ensure that the disk where the backup folder is located has enough free space to hold the number or size of the backups you have specified. If there is not enough free space you may find that the backup fails to complete correctly.

    Full Backup Settings

    Setup the FULL Backup options as follows:

    1. Set the folder that you want the FULL backup to be sent to.
    2. This is normally a path to your backup workstation.
      Click the button on the backup path line to browse to a network or drive location that you want to save to.
      Select the folder location and click OK in the browse window.

      If you know the path to the backup folder you may type it in manually.

    3. Select how long to keep backup files based on the age of the backup (delete files after X days old) or by setting a maximum amount of disk space used before the oldest backups are deleted.
    4. Full backups are zipped to reduce the space they require.
      In the example above, the option to keep historical backups has been set to ‘TOTAL SIZE (MB) is greater than 5000’. This means that the oldest backups will be removed once the total size of the backups reaches 5 Gigabytes.

    5. Set the Timeslot window for the backup to run.

    This timeslot should be set during the least busy period of clinic operation.

    It is recommended that a UNC path to the LOG and FULL backup locations is specified. Entering the path to a mapped drive share is not recommended. The backup folder must have ‘read & write’ access available for the user that runs the RxWorks Backgrounder scheduled task.

    Restore Full Backup Settings

    After running a full backup, RxWorks has the ability to restore the backup to a 2nd database on your server. This is one of the best ways to test the integrity & validity of the backup that has just been created. The restored database is called ‘RxRestore’.
    To enable the RxRestore database operation, check the box on the ‘RxWorks Server’ line.

    If you use one of the RxWorks 2003 Server loads, an additional option is available to restore a database to your RxBackup workstation. This will create an emergency copy of your data on the backup workstation in the event of a system failure. The restored database is called ‘RxEmergency’ and is restored to the folder RxBackupDUDataRxWorksSQL.

    Enabling the emergency database feature

    To enable the RxEmergency database operation:

  • Check the box on the ‘Backup Workstation Emergency Copy’ line.
  • Enter the SQL Server Instance details for the SQL installation on the backup workstation.
  • If you find these steps do not work, please “contact Support”.

    Database Maintenance Settings

    The re-index and statistics recalculation that occurs during the Database Maintenance operation can impact on the performance of your system. You can change the timeslot window so that the maintenance occurs during quiet periods of clinic operation.
    It is recommended that the timeslot is set later than the FULL backup timeslot.

    Was this article helpful?
    Dislike
    Views: 0