Merging Client Records

Merging Client Records

Estimated reading time: 1 min

Sometimes you might accidentally add the same client several times, but not notice until after you have added valuable information to some or even all entries. If you’d caught the error before this happened, it would be a simple job of having the supervisor user delete the extraneous files. However, once there is information on the record, it is far more effective to merge the two (or more) records.

The merge function will move all patients, visits and financials from the source client to the target client. After the process has finished, the program will delete the source client. For this reason, you will need to have delete access to the Client Page to be able to perform this operation.
If there are more than two records, you will need to perform multiple merges, one file at a time.

It is likely that patients will be duplicated as a result of duplicated client records. It may be necessary to perform a patient merge or manual cleanup after the initial client merge.

In some instances where very little information has been added to the duplicated client record, it may be more practical to simply copy & paste the extra information to the correct client; then delete the duplicate.

How to Access and Use the Client Merge Feature

You can access the merge client function from the task panel or from the client screen.

From the task panel

  1. Go to the Task Panel > Tools & Utilities > Client Tools.
  2. Select merge two clients.
  3. The Merge Clients window will open.

  4. Select the source client by clicking on the find button.
  5. The source client is usually the least correct client or the one with the least amount of visits or financial history.

  6. Select the target client by clicking the find button.
  7. Click the merge button.

From the client record

  1. Navigate to the client that you will use as the source client.
  2. Go to the top of the ribbon bar and select the tools Tab.
  3. Click on the merge duplicate button – the source client will be selected automatically.
  4. Select the target client by clicking the find button.
  5. Click the merge button.

On completion of the merge you will be taken to the target clientrecord for review. The source client is removed from your system. For this reason, you will need to have “delete access” to the Client Page to be able to perform this operation.
Was this article helpful?
Dislike
Views: 1